The Eddie Aikau Basis introduced the 2019 The Eddie Aikau Giant Wave Invitational with an all-star line-up and new structure.

For the 34th annual tournament, 32 invitees and 18 alternates can be invited, together with 9 women folk.

For the primary time ever, seven legends will take The Bay within the first warmth of the day and be eligible for the Hawaiian Airways “Best possible Wave of the Day” and 250,000 Hawaiian Miles.

“The Eddie Aikau Basis is happy to have the fortify of our beneficiant sponsors who’ve joined us in celebrating and honoring the existence and legacy of our brother, Eddie,” stated Solomon Aikau.

“This yr, we honor no longer best the equality of ladies within the game however one of the most longtime surfers within the business.”

Throughout the three-month keeping duration from December 1, 2019, thru February 29, 2020, if waves succeed in heights of 20-feet – Hawaiian scale – The Eddie will opt for those giant wave riders.

This yr’s sponsor listing comprises Hawaiian Airways, Kona Brewing Corporate, L&L Hawaiian Fish fry, Turtle Bay Hotel, and Waimea Valley. They’ll lend a hand publish essentially the most prestigious browsing pageant and opening rite for the neighborhood and global to witness.

The outlet rite to kick off the ready duration can be hung on Thursday, December 5, that includes a conventional Hawaiian blessing, informational cubicles, leisure, and a possibility for Hawaii’s Keiki to talk over with with their faculties.

When The Eddie closing ran in 2016, it undeniably become the most important tournament in aggressive browsing.

Over 1.2 million fanatics watched the are living flow from over 200 international locations around the globe – making it the most important tournament within the historical past of browsing.

2019 The Eddie Aikau Giant Wave Invitational | Invitees and Alternates


Aaron Gold
Andrea Moller
Ben Wilkinson
Billy Kemper
Bruce Irons
Danilo Couto
Dave Wassel
Eli Olson
Emi Erickson
Grant Baker
Greg Lengthy
Ian Walsh
Jamie O’Brien
Jamie Mitchell
John John Florence
Kai Lenny
Keala Kennelly
Keali‘i Mamala
Kelly Slater
Koa Rothman
Landon McNamara
Lucas Chianca
Luke Shepardson
Makuakai Rothman
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Nathan Florence
Nathan Fletcher
Paige Alms
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Tikanui Smith

Male Alternates

Tyler Larronde
Kyle Shipman
Kohl Christensen
Chris Bertish
Chris Owens
Mike Pietsch
Torrey Meister
Alex Martins
Ryan Seelbach
Matt Bromley
Reef McIntosh
Ezekiel Lau
Jamie Sterling

Feminine Alternates

Bianca Valenti
Raquel Heckert
Justine Dupont
Silvia Nabuco
Laura Enever


Derek Ho
Garrett McNamara
Jeff Clark
Mike Ho
Mike Parsons
Peter Mel
Tom Carroll

Supply hyperlink